Skip to main content

Two new Honorary Canons Installed at Canterbury Cathedral

Two new Honorary Canons Installed at Canterbury Cathedral
Published on

Two new Honorary Canons were installed as members of the Canterbury Cathedral Foundation on Saturday (25 June 2016).

Revd Sarah Chapman, chaplain to the Living Welll based at Nonington near Dover and also Diocesan Healing and Wholeness Adviser and Revd John Corbyn, vicar of Bearsted with Thurnham, were admitted to the Foundation during Choral Evensong by the Bishop of Dover, the Rt Revd Trevor Wilmott.

The office of Honorary Canon was introduced into English cathedrals under the 1840 Cathedrals Act. There are a maximum of 30 Honorary Canons at Canterbury. They can be either members of the clergy or lay people and are appointed by the Archbishop. The Honorary Canons have a seat on the College of Canons which meets annually at Canterbury Cathedral and is responsible for formally electing the Archbishop of Canterbury.

You can view more images from the ceremony in the gallery below.

Back to top of page