Skip to main content

University of Kent Colyer-Fergusson Concert

Come and experience one of the great pioneering symphonies of the nineteenth century; Tchaikovsky’s Symphony in B minor, Opus 74, Pathétique. Tchaikovsky described it as “the best thing I ever composed or shall compose” and its innovative structure would influence composers such as Mahler, Shostakovich and Sibelius. The Symphony certainly lives up to its original Russian nickname Patetitčeskaja, meaning ‘passionate’, and runs the whole gamut of emotions, famously ending with an unexpected and devastating Adagio lamentoso.
By contrast, the University Chorus will then be joined by two star soloists from the world of opera for a performance of Puccini’s Messa di Gloria, a gloriously energetic and charming work, full of lovely lyrical passages, rousing tunes and fiendish fugues!

Susan Wanless conductor
Shaun Dixon tenor
David Stout baritone

Tickets are £22, £18, £14, £10 and £8 available from Tel: 01227 769075

image of the Cathedral
Top Of Page