Skip to main content

The Colyer-Fergusson Cathedral Concert

The Colyer-Fergusson Cathedral Concert

University of Kent Chorus and Symphony Orchestra

Lydia Cheng leader
Susan Wanless conductor

Rhiannon Llewellyn soprano
Bethan Langford mezzo-soprano
Satriya Krisna tenor
Thomas Humphreys baritone

Matthew King A Hero Passes (University commission)
Beethoven Symphony No 3 in E flat major, Eroica
Haydn Nelson Mass

Haydn’s magnificent third Mass was originally titled ‘in Angustiis’ (in troubled times) as Napoleon’s army was sweeping across Europe and threatening to invade his native Austria. With news of the French defeat by Lord Nelson at the Battle of the Nile and the subsequent performance of the Mass for the Admiral, its final famous title was coined.

Beethoven’s third symphony was originally to be called ‘Bonaparte’, but with news that Napoleon had crowned himself Emperor of France, the composer angrily scratched out the title and instead called the work ‘Eroica’ – a revolutionary work in every sense. The concert begins with the world premiere of a contemporary take on ‘heroism’ by the internationally-acclaimed composer, Matthew King.


image of the Cathedral
Top Of Page