Skip to main content

Daily Mini Talks

Daily Mini Talks

Our wonderful volunteers will be providing a daily insight into the Cathedral’s rich history, drawing on their expertise and vast knowledge, with a varied programme of new 15-minute talks which will be held at regular intervals for visitors, residents and members of the Cathedral community to enjoy.

Covering a wide variety of topics, from Thomas Becket to Graffiti, Modern Art Installations to Cathedral Cats, there really is something for everyone.

Meeting point for the talks is in the south aisle of the Nave at quarter past the hour, as below, Monday-Saturday or 13.00 and 13.30hrs on Sunday.

Talks are free, but normal Precincts charges apply. More talks may be added on the day.

Monday 1 July
12.15 Tomb Raiders
13.15 Richard II & Two Archbishops

Tuesday 2 July
12.15 Miracle Windows
13.15 The Story of Becket
14.15 The Great Cloister

Wednesday 3 July
11.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
12.15 Murder in the Cathedral
13.15 Royal Tombs
14.15 Organs of the Cathedral

Thursday 4 July
14.15 Chichele’s Tomb

Friday 5 July
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 Royal Visitors
12.15 The Great Cloister
13.15 Bossanyi Windows
14.15 Cathedral under Attack
15.15 New Discoveries

Saturday 6 July
11.15 The Great Cloister
12.15 What Can You Find? A Children’s Talk
14.15 The Cathedral at War
15.15 History of the Cathedral in Glass

Sunday 7 July
13.00 White Benson
13.30 The Redemption Window

Monday 8 July
12.15 Richard III & Treachery of a Bishop
13.15 The Chapter House
14.15 Five Murdered Archbishops

Tuesday 9 July
11.15 Archbishop Benson
12.15 The Story of Becket
13.15 Miracle Windows

Wednesday 10 July
11.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
13.15 Cathedral History in Glass
14.15 Organs of the Cathedral

Thursday 11 July
11.15 Water, Water Everywhere
12.15 Pagan Classical & Christian Gothic
14.15 Henry IV & His Two Wives
15.15 The Black Prince’s Achievement & Feathers

Friday 12 July
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 The Black Prince
12.15 The Herb Garden
13.15 The Great Cloister
14.15 The Cathedral at War

Saturday 13 July
11.15 The Herb Garden
14.15 Cathedral History in Glass
15.15 The Cathedral at War

Sunday 14 July
13.00 The Black Prince and the Huguenots
13.30 Royal Tombs

Monday 15 July
11.15 Henry IV Parts 1 & 2
12.15 Archbishops Stigand & Lanfranc
13.15 Tomb Raiders
15.15 The Black Prince’s Achievement & Feathers

Tuesday 16 July
10.15 Archbishop Benson
11.15 Henry IV & His Sons
12.15 St Anselm’s Chapel

Wednesday 17 July
10.15 The Herb Garden
12.15 Murder in the Cathedral
13.15 The Royal Tombs

Thursday 18 July
11.15 11.5 Bossanyi Windows
12.15 Richard III & Two Archbishops
14.15 Mrs Black Prince
15.15 The Story of Becket

Friday 19 July
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 The Black Prince
14.15 Chichele’s Tomb
15.15 The Cathedral in WWII

Saturday 20 July
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 The Great Cloister
12.15 What Can You Find? A Children’s Talk
14.15 The Great Cloister
15.15 History of the Cathedral in Glass

Sunday 21 July
13.00 The Black Prince and the Huguenots
13.30 Royal Tombs

Monday 22 July
13.15 The Black Prince
15.15 Five Murdered Archbishops

Tuesday 23 July
11.15 Henry IV & His Sons
14.15 Painting in the Cathedral
15.15 The Great Cloister

Wednesday 24 July
11.15 The Herb Garden
13.15 The Royal Tombs

Thursday 25 July
12.15 Richard III & Treachery of a Bishop
13.15 The Chapter House and Its Windows
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 Mrs Black Prince

Friday 26 July
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 Black Prince
12.15 Monks Graffiti
14.15 Cathedral at War
15.15 Chichele’s Tomb

Saturday 27 July
11.15 The Great Cloister
12.15 What Can You Find? A Children’s Talk
14.15 The Cathedral at War

Sunday 28 July
13.00 The Ancestors Window
13.30 Early History of the Cathedral

Monday 29 July
11.15 The Black Prince
13.15 Pagan Classical & Christian Gothic
14.15 Five Murdered Archbishops
15.15 The Screen of the Six Kings

Tuesday 30 July
10.15 Henry IV & His Sons
15.15 The Black Prince’s Achievement & Feathers

Wednesday 31 July
10.15 The Herb Garden
11.15 Under Bell Harry Tower
12.15 Murder in the Cathedral
13.15 Conquest – Archbishops Stigand & Lanfranc

Back to top of page