Skip to main content

Daily Mini Talks

Daily Mini Talks
Event Date June talks
Price: Normal precinct charges apply.

Our wonderful volunteers will be providing a daily insight into the Cathedral’s rich history, drawing on their expertise and vast knowledge, with a varied programme of new 15-minute talks which will be held at regular intervals for visitors, residents and members of the Cathedral community to enjoy.

Covering a wide variety of topics, from Thomas Becket to Graffiti, Modern Art Installations to Cathedral Cats, there really is something for everyone.

Meeting point for the talks is in the south aisle of the Nave at quarter past the hour, as below, Monday-Saturday or 13.00 and 13.30hrs on Sunday.

Talks are free, but normal Precincts charges apply. More talks may be added on the day.

Saturday 1 June
10.15 The Story of St Dunstan
11.15 The Chapter House
12.15 The Story of Becket
13.15 Secrets of St Gabriel’s Chapel
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 The Great Cloister
 

Sunday 2 June
13.00 The Royal Tombs
13.30 The Black Prince and the Huguenots
 

Monday 3 June
12.15 Richard II and Two Archbishops
13.15 Tomb Raiders
15.15 The Screen of the Six Kings
 

Tuesday 4 June
12.15 The Black Prince
13.15 The Story of Becket
14.15 Paintings in the Cathedral
15.15 It’s a Risky Job
 

Wednesday 5 June
10.15 The Herb Garden
11.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
12.15 Two Henry’s and a Becket
13.15 D-Day 75
14.15 Women in the Cathedral
15.15 Henry II v. Becket: What Happened Next?
 

Thursday 6 June
11.15 The Bossanyi Windows
12.15 Monastic Medicine
14.15 The Black Prince’s Achievements
15.15 Henry IV and his Two Wives
 

Friday 7 June
12.15 The Great Cloister
13.15 Lady Margaret and Our Royal Family
14.15 Finding Graffiti
15.15 The Crowning Glory
 

Saturday 8 June
10.15 The Great Cloister
11.15 The Herb Garden
13.15 20th Century Stained Glass
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 The Cathedral’s History in Glass
 

Sunday 9 June
13.00 The Black Prince and the Huguenots
13.30 The Royal Tombs
 

Monday 10 June
11.15 The Story of Becket
12.15 Richard III and the Treachery of a Bishop
13.15 The Chapter House
14.15 The Monks of Christ Church Priory
 

Tuesday 11 June
11.15 Becket’s Bones
12.15 Two Henry’s and a Becket
13.15 Murder in the Cathedral
14.15 Miracle Windows
15.15 The Black Prince and the Shrine
 

Wednesday 12 June
10.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
11.15 Henry IV and Joan of Navarre
12.15 The Royal Tombs
13.15 Pagan Classical and Christian Gothic
14.15 Henry II v. Becket: What Happened Next?
 

Thursday 13 June
11.15 The Medieval Stonemason
12.15 Monastic Medicine
13.15 Archbishop Simon: Murdered by a Mob
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 Henry IV and His Two Wives
 

Friday 14 June
11.15 The Black Prince
13.15 The Herb Garden
14.15 The Crowning Glory
15.15 Finding Graffiti
 

Saturday 15 June
10.15 The Herb Garden
11.15 The Chapter House
12.15 The Great Cloister
13.15 The Opus Alexandrium and Roundels
14.15 The Warrior’s Chapel
15.15 The Story of Becket
 

Sunday 16 June
13.00 Hilary Sell
13.30 Charles Sell
 

Monday 17 June
12.15 The Black Prince
13.15 Conquest Archbishops Stigand and Lanfranc
14.15 The Monks of Christ Church Priory
15.15 The Story of Becket
 

Tuesday 18 June
12.15 The Story of Becket
14.15 Paintings in the Cathedral
15.15 Blue Dick
 

Wednesday 19 June
10.15 Bossanyi Windows
11.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
12.15 The Royal Tombs
13.15 Two Henry’s and a Becket
14.15 Women in the Cathedral
15.15 Henry II v. Becket: What Happened next?
 

Thursday 20 June
11.15 The Bossanyi Windows
12.15 Monastic Medicine
13.15 Richard II and Two Archbishops
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 Henry IV and His Two Wives
 

Friday 21 June
11.15 The Ancestor Windows
12.15 The Cathedral in WWII
13.15 Tomb Raiders
14.15 The Cathedral at War
15.15 St Anselm’s Chapel
 

Saturday 22 June
10.15 The Great Cloister
11.15 The Herb Garden
12.15 Tetramorphs
13.15 The Warrior’s Chapel
14.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 The History of the Cathedral in Glass
 

Sunday 23 June
13.00 The Royal Tombs
13.30 The Black Prince and the Huguenots
 

Monday 24 June
11.15 The Story of Becket
12.15 Tomb Raiders
13.15 Stephen Langton and the Magna Carta
14.15 The Black Prince’s Achievements
 

Tuesday 25 June
11.15 Becket’s Bones
13.15 The Story of Becket
15.15 The Chapter House and the Water Tower
 

Wednesday 26 June
10.15 The Miracle Windows
11.15 St Gabriel’s Chapel
12.15 The Royal tombs
14.15 Henry II v. Becket: What Happened Next?
 

Thursday 27 June
11.15 The Ancestor Windows
12.15 The Cathedral in WWII
13.15 The Great Cloister
14.15 The Cathedral at War
15.15 Cathedral Under Attack
 

Saturday 29 June
11.15 The Herb Garden
12.15 The Secrets of St Gabriel’s Chapel
13.15 St Anselm’s Chapel
14.15 The Story of Becket

Back to top of page