Skip to main content

Chapter Members

Chapter Members

The Chapter of Canterbury are responsible for all aspects of the day-to-day management of the Cathedral. Chapter comprises the Dean, the Residentiary Canons, the Receiver General and four additional persons appointed by the Archbishop.

The Dean – The Very Revd Dr Robert Willis

The Very Revd Dr Robert Willis, the 39th Dean of Canterbury since the Reformation, was installed in July 2001. He had previously been Dean of Hereford for nine years and is a previous chairman of the Deans’ Conference of the Church of England and former member of the General Synod. He is an honorary Doctor of Divinity of Yale University and Doctor of Civil Law of the University of Kent.

In 2008 he was made a Freeman of the City of Canterbury and is a Deputy Lieutenant of the County of Kent. In 2012 he was awarded the Cross of St Augustine for services to the Anglican Communion and is a Knight of the Order of St John. He has written many hymns and contributed to the recent editions of Hymns Ancient & Modern and New English Praise.

Canon Librarian – The Revd Dr Tim Naish

The Canon Librarian has responsibility for the educational work of the Cathedral, and supports the staff of the Archive and Library Department. As Director of Education the Canon Librarian has responsibility for the Anglican Conferences for Seminarians and for newly ordained bishops from around the worldwide Anglican Communion, held in the Cathedral’s International Study Centre.

Tim came to this role in Canterbury in April 2018, from twelve years spent in theological education at Ripon College Cuddesdon. He has also had six years as a parish priest, and eleven years in Uganda and the Congo, working in leadership formation with the Anglican Church in those countries. Academically his special interest in missiology; he is also a keen armchair sportsman, book collector, music lover and walker. He and his wife have three grown children and (so far) one grandchild.

Canon Missioner – The Revd Dr Emma Pennington

Reverend Dr Emma Pennington is the Cathedral’s Canon Missioner and was installed by the Archbishop of Canterbury in March 2019. Emma has been Vicar of Garsington, Cuddesdon and Horspath in the Oxford Diocese since 2008 before which she was chaplain of Worcester College in Oxford for five years. She has also been a prayer and spirituality adviser for the diocese and an area dean. Emma, who trained at Ripon College, Cuddesdon, from 1997 to 2000, has been a tutor for the Initial Ministerial Education Reflective Practice: Ministry and Spirituality courses and a co-founder of the successful Festival of Prayer day conference run in association with the Bible Reading Fellowship. She has a doctorate from the University of Oxford on the fourteenth century devotional writer Julian of Norwich.

The Canon Missioner is a residentiary canon role and has the tasks of the former Canon Pastor position together with the ministry of outreach and welcome opportunities offered by the Cathedral’s restoration and development project The Canterbury Journey.

Canon Treasurer – The Reverend Andrew Dodd

The Canon Treasurer is a Residentiary Canon role, which involves the stewardship of resources and the protection and restoration of the fabric of the building, its artefacts and the care of those who work in these areas of Cathedral life. A key element of the present role is the oversight of The Canterbury Journey project as it enters its final phase.

The Reverend Andrew Dodd comes to the Cathedral from Great Grimsby, where he had been Team Rector and Area Dean of North East Lincolnshire since 2011. Whilst in this role he established Grimsby Minster as a centre of civic life and a hub for arts and community activity in the town.

Andrew trained as a Civil Engineer, working for Surrey County Council for seven years before training for ordination at Westcott House, Cambridge. He was ordained in Southwark Diocese in 2000, serving his curacy in New Addington and then as Rector of St Mary’s Newington at the Elephant and Castle.

As well as enjoying family life, Andrew is learning to play hockey, is an artisanal baker and enjoys international cinema. He and his wife Louise, who is also a priest, have two school age children, Miriam and Benedict.

Lay Member of Chapter – Mrs Janice Reid

Janice was installed as a Lay Member of Chapter in the autumn of 2014 after a long association with Canterbury Cathedral’s life and worship, which began with the ordination of her father here when she was a child. 

Having graduated and trained as a teacher, she later completed a research degree on aspects of the theology of the nineteenth century Ecclesiological Movement. In addition, she has a particular academic interest in aspects of the theology of St John’s Gospel, and in Black, Womanist, Feminist, and Latin American Liberation theologies.

For twenty years she taught at The King’s School, Canterbury, where she was Head of Religious Studies and Philosophy, and latterly President of the Common Room, while also serving as an HMC/ISI inspector.

Janice and her husband, David, met at a Deanery lunch party and have two grown-up sons. 

Lay Member of Chapter – Mrs Caroline Spencer

Caroline was installed as a Lay Member of Chapter in December 2003: one of the first Lay Members and the first woman on Chapter.  She has been active in church life and governance throughout her adult life. A former member of the General Synod, she has also served as Chair of the Canterbury Diocesan Licensed Ministries Framework and as a member of the Canterbury Archbishop’s Council. Currently, she is Lay Chair of West Bridge Deanery.  She is an Honorary Fellow of Canterbury Christ Church University.

Caroline worships at Wye Parish Church where she is involved in the ministry of welcome and sometimes makes the coffee.

She lives in Godmersham with her husband Jonathan. Their three children are now grown and flown, and they have recently discovered the delights of becoming grandparents. Caroline enjoys cooking, gardening, walking (especially in mountains) and the visual and performing arts (just as well since two of her children are musicians and the third is a dancer and choreographer).

Lay Member of Chapter – Mr William Pettit

Appointed to Chapter in January 2007, William was the Civic and International Manager at Canterbury City Council. William has assisted at Services in the Cathedral for many years and represents the Cathedral on the Deanery Synod.

After more than 25 years as a member of the Cathedral’s congregation, I am honoured and delighted to have been given this new way of serving the Cathedral community.

Back to top of page